Skip to content

EPA SmartWay Awards Freight Carriers for Supply Chain Efficiency

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is honoring 40 truck carriers and, for the first time ever, a barge carrier, as industry leaders in supply chain environmental and energy efficiency with its annual SmartWay Excellence Awards. Awardees are environmentally responsible carriers—many of which employ natural gas vehicles—that move more goods more miles with lower emissions and less energy.

“EPA recognizes its top SmartWay carrier partners as they lead the way for their peers in this crucial sector of our economy,” said EPA’s Office Director of Transportation & Air Quality Christopher Grundler. “We all depend on an efficient and sustainable freight sector, and these award-winning SmartWay carriers have demonstrated that they can get the job done while saving fuel and reducing greenhouse gases and other harmful pollutants.”

EPA’s SmartWay Transport Partnership is a market-driven initiative that empowers businesses to move goods in the cleanest, most energy-efficient way possible to protect public health and reduce the emissions that contribute to climate change. Since 2004, SmartWay Partners have avoided emitting more than 60 million metric tons of the carbon pollution that contributes to climate change, while saving more than 140 million barrels of oil and more than $20 billion in fuel costs. SmartWay also contributes to cleaner air and healthier citizens by significantly reducing emissions of the pollution that contributes to smog.

The 2015 SmartWay Freight Carrier Excellence Award recipients are:

Arlo G Lott Trucking Inc., Idaho Knight Transportation, Inc., Arizona
Cheyenne Express Inc., Michigan LTI, Inc., Washington
Container Connection, California Maverick Transportation LLC, Arkansas
Contrans Group Inc., Ontario May Trucking Company, Oregon
Con-way Truckload, Missouri MCL McGill Carriers Ltd., British Columbia
Covenant Transport, Tennessee Modern Transportation Services, LLC, Pennsylvania
C.R. England, Inc., Utah NEP Supershooters, Pennsylvania
Dedicated Transport LLC, Ohio New World Van Lines, Illinois
DHL Express USA, Florida Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc., North Carolina
Doug Andrus Distributing, Idaho Prime, Inc., Missouri
D&D Transportation Services Inc., Idaho Roehl Transport, Inc., Wisconsin
D. P. Curtis Trucking, Inc., Utah RPM Harbor Services, Inc., California
Edwards Distribution Services, Inc., Pennsylvania RSP Express Inc., Michigan
Frito-Lay, Texas Schneider, Wisconsin
Heartland Express, Inc. of Iowa, Iowa Swift Transportation Co., Arizona
Heritage Transport, LLC, Indiana Toyota Transport-Toyota Logistics Services, Inc., California
Hill’s Pet Nutrition Sales, Inc., Kansas Transport TFI 15, S.E.C., Gregoire, Quebec City
Ingram Barge Company, Tennessee UPS Small Package, Georgia
J.B. Hunt Transport, Inc., Arkansas Werner Enterprises, Nebraska
J & M Tank Lines, Inc., Alabama Western Express, Inc., Tennessee

The award recipients were honored at the American Trucking Associations (ATA) Annual Management Conference & Exhibition in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. SmartWay also recognized shippers and logistics company award recipients on October 13, 2015 at the U.S. EPA Heavy Duty Technology Showcase in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

More information on SmartWay, click here.